Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:22 p.m. - 2003-03-11
Random Samplings
Nope, no bunny pictures today! Maybe tomorrow, as it is the day that both Miss Bunny and Loki go and see both Alvin and the veterinary opthalmologist. Yes, it will be a banner bunny day.

Today is a banner plumber day. Or at least I wish it were. Our hose outlet in the backyard has sprung the tiniest leak, and we have called two plumbers to come fix it. And, of course, neither of them has shown up. However, hope springs eternal. There are at least 20 more plumbers in the phone book and you would think that if we slowly go through the list, calling one or two every day, eventually we will hit the jackpot of a plumber who actually shows up.

*****************************************************

I got a jaw-dropping letter from my mom yesterday. It read:

"Dear Ruthie, I just wanted to tell you how proud I am of you for making the calls to New York about the rabbits. Animals need everyone they can to help them.....(Paragraph about ferret program she saw on television.) It's too bad animals have to suffer at our hands. Anyway, just wanted you to know. I couldn't ask what the cruelty was - it would hurt too much. Love, Mom."

It's jaw-dropping because, coming from a very uptight old New England family which doesn't believe in showing too much emotion, this is about as gushy as my mom gets. Really, I almost fainted when I read it! But I also felt really good about my mom. We've definately had our problems over the years, but on certain key issues, she really rocks.

It says everything about where I get my animal loving insanity from, doesn't it? It's definately hereditary.

***********************************************

Bruce and I went to hear a talk on Kennewick Man last night. I almost said Kennebunkport Man, but that would be George Bush, wouldn't it?

This was another one of those Archeological Institute talks that we periodically go to. The last one was by a man who was supposed to be discussing the origins of Buddhism in Tibet. What he really discussed, though, was the origins of his grants and how he actually had done a lot of research in Peru, but got to go to Tibet because he was just such a cool dude that everyone wanted to give him money and the Chinese government let him go anywhere he wanted. It was a snoozer, except that he occasionally showed a pretty Tibet slide in between all the maps of Peru and Tibet and explanations of his budget reviews. Gawd.

The guy last night would have been a good speaker except he kept wandering beyond the tether of his microphone so that I could hardly hear him at times. And instead of discussing the Kennewick Man, he kept discussing the endless government meetings that have been held regarding this controversial archeological find.

This is a recurrent theme - You get these archeologists who are supposed to be giving you the story of what they actually deduced from their research and instead they give you a budget report. Grrrr.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!