Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:13 p.m. - 2003-03-01
Brain Freeze
Ok, so for those of you who think I have been just a tiny tad too heavy and sappy the last few days....

I learned a new Southernism today.

We went down to Birmingham to hang out at the gallery with Wendy and Deborah and at a certain point Bruce went out and got smoothies. They were delicious - mmmmm, strawberry! - but totally freezing cold. I took one gulp and could feel that familiar ache rising up through my temples and settling in the front of my head, just behind my eyebrows. You know that ache - that freezing cold food ache.

I looked over at Wendy. She had her hand to her forehead, and a pained look on her face.

"Here it comes!" she moaned. "Brain freeze!"

"Yeah, I'm getting it, too." wailed Deborah. "I haaaaaate Brain freeze!"

"Brain freeze?!!" I was intrigued. "You know, up North we call that 'Ice Cream Headache'."

Yup, it's one more important phrase to put in my North-to-South dialect translator.

*************************************

Oh, by the way, not to torture all you folks who are about to get another eight feet of snow.....but we had our first two daffodils bloom yesterday. They are tiny yellow ones at the side of our house. They won't be the last ones, though, because the former owners planted literally hundreds of them all over the property. They were all blooming when we looked at the house last year and it was quite a jaw dropper. We did a quick walk of the property when we got home tonight and also found what I think are native geraniums almost to blooming, and a Trillium grandiflora about halfway there.

And for those of you interested in the finer arts of hoodoo - Trillium grandiflora is one of the plants known as "John the Conqueror". It's the one referred to as "Low John" to be specific. Think about that the next ime you hear Muddy Waters singing about getting some Little Johnny Conqueroo!

And it's in my yard! Yahoo!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!