Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:56 p.m. - 2003-02-24
Groundhogs and Foxes
Ah, the Universe. It does its best to cheer me up when I'm hopelessly morose. Like today, for example, when it decided that it should shower me with happy events. Tra La La.

Happy Event #1: I was being amazingly productive today, sewing in the outer room upstairs, and Burma decided to grace me with her presence the entire time. She usually runs in the closet after a certain point, but today sat on the window seat looking adorable but cranky. She stared at me for about two hours, and then fell asleep.

Gosh! Maybe someday she'll actually let me hold her!

Happy Event #2: I was talking to Bruce while looking out the window when I saw what I thought was a huge orange cat. For a minute I thought Burroughs had gotten out, but then I realised that the "cat" had black ears. And a big fluffy tail. "Ooooooooooh! Ooooooh! I think it's a FOX!" I yelled into the phone, and then ran downstairs to get a better look out the back door.

The fox, by that point, had decided to take a nap. While I watched it turned around a few times and then did a flop next to a brushpile. It put its tail over its head and commenced to snooze. A couple of seconds later it must have sensed me though, because it jumped up, stared back at me, and then took off running towards the back of the property.

It was really just gosh golly amazing. It was only about twenty feet away.

It is, however, a sad statement about Burroughs hefty weight problem that I could have confused him with Mr. Fox. Cuz between you 'n' me, folks, that fox was huge.

Happy Event #3: Guess who's back? It's Mr. Groundhog!!! He was sunning himself on the stones today, sniffing the spring breezes and looking very pleased with life. Admit it, you missed him. I did, too, especially because I saw a dead groundhog in the road not too far from here and I was convinced Mr. Groundhog had gone to the big vegetable garden in the sky. Nope, I guess he was just hibernating, or maybe went to Florida for the winter.

I talked to the former owner of the house a few weeks ago and she informed me that we have been way too formal with Mr. Groundhog. Her mother was on a first name basis with him. Evidentally he has been living in the backyard for years and his name is George.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!