Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:32 p.m. - 2003-02-23
More of the Same
The grieving process just goes on and on, with no signs of abating anytime soon. This morning I unthinkingly changed the water in Ty's old dish and started crying when I realised he wasn't around to be drinking it.

Adding to my general feelings of distress is the fact that I found out yesterday that an old art buddy of mine from New York died in December and certain friends of mine, who shall remain nameless, never bothered to call me and tell me. I found out when I tried to look up her gallery on google and instead found a memorial notice.

It really felt lousy. I had just about decided to can my relationship with the said nameless people due to other really screwed up things they have done over the last few years. This has definately helped me make up my mind.

People can just be so rotten.

**************************************************

On the other hand, they can also be really wonderful and true friends. Simon called me today and that was truly lovely. And by the way, she is returning to her original birth name of Donna. I haven't called her Donna since high school!! I'll have to nickname her "Bella Donna" since it means beautiful lady, but also is the name of a slightly eerie plant. How perfect!

Anyway, we had a good talk. Jay was visiting from Boston and was sleeping in her living room so we didn't talk too long. I kind of avoided talking too much about Ty because I didn't want to blubber on and start crying hysterically, which I am definately prone to doing lately. Mostly we discussed my sending a Super 8 film I have of Kira and Ty to her so that she and Theo can get it transferred to video for me.

And we talked about her yard. Simon, uh, I mean, Donna has a jungle in her backyard, too. From her description it sounds like she has angelica, which is actually a cool plant. I suspect someone planted a great garden there about 30 years ago, and it hasn't been cared for since.

My dream job, if I weren't an artist, would be to be some sort of horticultural archaeologist, and go into old abandoned gardens and try to figure out what was in them and how was it planted and rescue all those old, neglected plants. It's pretty much what we're doing here, and I would desperately love to go park myself at Donna's for a couple of months and work over her yard, too.

*****************************************

And speaking of that, after I hung up the phone we went out to the Horseshoe, the area right in back of the house and started pulling more of the evil English Ivy.

And got a truly nasty surprize.

Underneath the English Ivy is a solid six inch layer of -

Are you ready for this??

KITTY LITTER!!!

KITTY LITTER!!

KITTY LITTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I mean, GROSS!!!!!

And it was the truly disgusting smelly deodorant kind!! And even though it must have been out there for at least two to three years, it STILL STANK!!!

What on earth would possess someone to dump layers and layers of kitty litter right out in back of their house?!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!