Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:56 p.m. - 2003-02-11
Sick Day
Would you be attracted to the brand name "Skinny Cow"?

I thought not. I saw it today on a package of Low Fat ice cream sandwiches, and it called to mind all sorts of images of factory farms and animal cruelty.

"Skinny Cow Low Fat Ice Cream Sandwiches". What the hell were they thinking?

*******************************************

I'm trying my derndest to be entertaining but unfortunately I'm still sick. This is getting completely ridiculous. The most ridiculous thing about it is that I'm not sick enough to go to bed and be incapacitated, I'm just sick enough to sit around with a stricken look on my face whining about how I don't feeeeeeeeeeel good.

Bruce says a lot of his students are sick and the papers are full of articles about how all the schools in the area have had terrible attendence rates because of the flu. So I guess I'm not alone in my malingering whineyness.

So here I am, drinking a concoction of lemon tea, honey, fresh ginger root, and Glenlivet.

**************************************************

I printed out all my Diaryland entries yesterday. As a result, I have a three ring binder with over two inches of paper in it. Man, that's a lot of malingering whineyness! I had no idea I was such a productive blitherer.

************************************************

I did go out for awhile today, to inflict my illness and consequent bad juju on the rest of the world. First I went to pay our phone bill. Then I went to the dry cleaners. That was exciting because I found a huge box there that I knew the bunnies would go crazy for. They haven't had a good, big box in a long time.

Then I drove around Five Points and reveled in the fact that all the ridiculously overpriced houses that we wanted to buy but didn't because they were ridiculously overpriced and the owners wouldn't negotiate, are still for sale. Yup, two of them have been for sale for at least a year and a half now. I must confess to feeling a certain glee in knowing that the obnoxious owners must be desperately wishing they had taken our offers by now. Greedy bastards!!

Um, that's my illness talking. I would never be so nasty and vindictive if I were feeling healthy. Noooooo, not me!!

And then I went to Publix Market, also known as Pubix. Supposedly I went to buy veggies but really I went to buy chocolate eclairs and cherry Danish.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!