Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:09 p.m. - 2003-02-03
It's 65 Degrees!!!
Oh, I don't mean to sound like I'm gloating about the weather here in Alabama.

Ok, so I DO mean to sound like I'm gloating about the weather here in Alabama. Because I AM gloating about the weather here in Alabama. I was just outside, for three hours, in a T SHIRT!!!!!! A T SHIRT!!!!!

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!!!!

And we have daffodils coming up all over the place.

Please don't hate me.

I'm not sure if our outdoor thermometer reads right because some big freakin' insect built an egg case over the needle, but it seems to be saying 65 degrees. I actually think it was closer to 70. Yesterday was even more gorgeous - the thermometer said 69, but I was sweating to death. And I'm usually freezing.

Bruce and I spent the day cleaning up various parts of the jungle. He wandered around with his cross cut saw, taking down branches and small trees that were beyond being woodpecker habitat. I dug up part of a future lettuce bed next to the house and gave the evil wisteria the first of what I'm sure will be many, many prunings this season. Then we both worked on taking away all the dead leaves that were in the back patio.

We've been piling up all the leaves, as well as household compost stuff in an area of the jungle known as the "Baba Yaga" area. It's next to the T.S. Eliot area (aka: The Wasteland) and is full of old junk left over from the previous owners. It will take ages to clean up, so we're not even trying right now. We're turning it into the world's largest leaf pile and compost heap. I'm wondering if I can charge admission.

It also has a huge old thorn tree with branches at just the right height to give anyone walking by a corneal abrasion. I'm not thrilled with this tree. I haven't seen anything so spiny since my parents Akita came home after wrangling a porcupine. It really does create an atmosphere where you expect to see a giant mortar and pestle come spinning along with an old hag leaning out of it laughing demonically.

I'm just as superstitious about cutting down thorn trees as I am about cutting holly, however, so the tree will, sadly, be staying. Today I was looking at it and thinking that it really wasn't so bad. I've been wanting to put in a mourning garden, with only black, white and lavender flowers and the thorn tree could be the perfect backdrop. Creepy!!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!