Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:02 a.m. - 2003-01-24
winter in alabama
Oooooooh, it is freakin' freezin' here! It is so damn cold I might as well be up North!

I just spent half an hour dealing with our outside hose outlet, which I was afraid had frozen because the temperature went down to 5 degrees last night. It actually had frozen, despite my layers of insulation, but a pot of hot water later it opened up. Apparently there is no permanent damage.

I'm not so sure about me though. After half an hour out there I think my nose is about to fall off.

The problem with winter in Alabama is that it has all the disadvantages of winter in the North, but none of the advantages. It gets cold, really freezing cold, but there's not enough beautiful snow to go snowshoeing or skiing, or even to make it worth looking out the window and saying "Awwwww....so pretty!"

Of course, it's only freezing cold like this for, oh, maybe five days a year. A month of somewhat chilly days and it's over. I should complain, right? In a couple of weeks I'll probably be seeing daffodils.

**********************************

This is a perfect example of the skizziness of Alabama:

Monday was Martin Luther King Day. It was also the birthday of Robert E. Lee, which I believe may be also a state holiday. Because of these two special days every store in town was closed.....except for ABC liquors.

Yaaaaaaaahoo!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!