Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:56 p.m. - 2003-01-22
Glop
I made glop for dinner tonight.

You've all made glop. It's everything that's been wandering around lost in the fridge plus a can of corn. And even though the ingredients are different everytime, it always looks and tastes the same.

I love making glop. And I especially love it when Bruce comes home and says "What's for dinner, oh love of my life?" and I get to reply "Why, glop! I made it just for you!"

Tonight's glop was, indeed, a special glop. As well as a can of corn, I also cooked up some red lentils to throw in. I didn't realise how quickly red lentils cook, so a) they boiled over and got lentil water all over the stove while I was doing dishes, and b) they got a bit too soft and, um, gloppy. It didn't matter, they went in with all the other, equally gloppy ingredients. I also put a dash of "Al's Gourmet Seafood Boil" into the pot. It has true Cajun ingredients like cayenne pepper and seasalt and instant coffee. Yup, instant coffee. That's truly Cajun. And gourmet!

As much as Bruce likes glop, it's actually not his favorite dish. His favorite dish is one that we have titled "Tofu Train Wreck" We called it this because it is tofu with tomato sauce, and it looks like the aftermath of a particularly nasty Amtrak experience. At one time Bruce, being a creature of habit, made Tofu Train Wreck at least four times a week, until every time I saw it I wanted to destroy our kitchen. Now he only gets to make it once a month. If he's very, very good, that is.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!