Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:41 p.m. - 2003-01-21
Morning Work
I'm beginning to feel like one of those chimpanzees in a 1950's jungle movie, always hopping up and down, scratching my armpits. These rashes just will not quit. So annoying.

Attention! Earth to Ruth's Body: You have an auto-immune system! Would you like to use it?! Huh?! Please??

Despite my continual not-so-discreet scratching, I did manage to have a productive day. This morning I poked my head outside and realised it was about 60 degrees out, despite some impending drizzle. So I wandered out with my coffee and started clearing the leaves out from one of the garden beds next to the house. I had thought this bed was abandoned but noticed a couple of days ago that there are what look like grape hyacinths coming up through the dead leaves.

I also want to put in another rose there that I rescued from the wicked and evil neighborhood Loew's. It's "Mr. Lincoln", for all you rosarians out there. A nice, respectable 1950's rose to go with my nice, respectable but rapidly turning freaky 1950's house. Mr. Lincoln cost $2.49 on sale, and was calling to me in a truly desperate fashion, so I took him home.

Did you know there is also a Cesar Chavez rose? Cesar wasn't desperate though. He was in fine condition, and very expensive, so as much as I support the farm workers he stayed at Loew's.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!