Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:23 p.m. - 2002-12-07
Day after Opening Blues
So didja' all read my little rabbit rant yesterday and then go to the HRS web page? Didja'? Huh? And didja' make yerself sick looking at all those nauseatingly cute rabbits? And then didja' order lotsa' books from Amazon?

Yeah, those rabbits get to you, don't they? I swear, Loki and Miss Bunny control my every thought. (Speaks in zombie-esque voice:) "Must go to HRS! Must link to Amazon! Must spent gazillion dollars! Must give Loki and Mirage pineapple and yogurt treats for dinner! Yes, yes!"

*****************************************

Well, if making art is like having a baby, the months of work were the pregnancy, the installation on Wednesday was the birth, and the opening last night was the christening. And today seems to be the big, fat, post-partum depression. Sigh.

It's not as bad as it usually gets, because I do have things that need to be done before we go on vacation next week. I need to make curtains for the living room, studio, guest room, our bedroom....uh, I guess that would be most of the house wouldn't it? And I need to make a "draft dodger" snake for the double door in the living room because the little 1/4 inch crack at the bottom lets in a steady stream of cold air. And I have to make Wendy's niece three little monogrammed pillows for her baby dolls.

Awwwww......

I'm working on the snake today because the draft of air makes me crazy. I worked on it mostly upstairs so that I could be with Burma. We listened to a radio station that plays a lot of old British Invasion (now don't groan! My Dad's family is English, remember? I'm genetically programmed to like this stuff!) and I sang along. I know all the words to these songs, and people who work a lot with feral cats say that it's important to talk and sing to them constantly so that they get used to the sound of your voice.

And I dare say, my off-key yodeling of "Don't Sleep In The Subway, Darling" is going to take some getting used to.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!