Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:15 a.m. - 2002-11-26
Burma and a Little Rant
And Seth has put the second entry in my guestbook! I'm relieved - it actually works!

*******************************

It's 8 am. Bruce bounces into the bedroom and raises his fist in a salute.

"I am Professor Zardonzaaa! I come from a planet where people know how to read and write! Hey, did I tell you about this student who came up to me yesterday and told me we were going too fast? She thinks we should stay on one chapter till everyone in the class understands it. I mean, we'd still be on Chapter One! Jesus!"

I groan and roll over. It's just too early for somebody to be so wide awake. Why did I marry a morning person?

**********************************************

Yesterday was Countdown To Cathead. Miss Kitty hadn't done anything psychotic in the last couple of days so the vet decided it was safe to let her go home. We picked her up in the late afternoon.

It took awhile for us to actually get her. She wouldn't let them remove her catheter, and then she wouldn't let them put her into the carrier. And then the vet assistant came into the waiting room looking breathless.

"Are you in a hurry?" she huffed. "She got loose! We gotta catch her!"

After all the hysteria I was surprised when they brought her into the waiting room. She's tiny, tiny, smaller than Athena was. I can't believe she's old enough to have had kittens, but her size is undoubtedly due to malnutrition and not age.

The good news is that once we got her home she was not completely psycho. She will actually allow us to pick her up for a couple of minutes before she starts wriggling, and she doesn't bite or howl. Giving her the antibiotics was no problem.

She did do something a little spooky though. There's some background to this: On the last night that our old black cat, Kira, was alive she crawled into the china cabinet where I kept my black cat collection and stayed there all night. We have photographs of her there - a black cat among black cats, and when I think of her it's inevitably that memory.

Last night we left Miss Kitty by herself for a few minutes and when we came back we couldn't find her. Then Bruce started laughing. "You want to see a real black cat? Not all these fake ones?"

She had gotten onto the shelves where all the black cats are, and was hiding behind a big wooden cat cutout. We could only see her face, peeking out from between its legs. All I could think of was Kira, sitting in the middle of all the little ceramic cat faces. For about two seconds I thought maybe Miss Kitty was trying to tell us something, some message from Kira in the Wild Beyond. I'm trying not to read too much into this!

Oh, Miss Kitty does have a name now. We decided on Burma, after my favorite character from the old Terry and the Pirates comic strip. Burma was smart, sexy and not afraid to whup the Dragon Lady's ass, which we thought would be appropriate since our Burma will have to deal with the Dragonesque Miss Athena.

*******************************************

I just heard on the radio that some county in Georgia is putting stickers in all it's science books stating that students should realise that evolution is only a theory and that there are other ways that people could have come to earth. And they aren't talking about aliens colonising the earth either.

Nope, they are, of course, talking about creationism. I get so frustrated with this. I can't believe people can totally ignore all the scientific evidence for evolution and cling to the freaking Bible, which was written so many years ago by PEOPLE! I may get flamed for this by a bunch of Christian fundamentalists, but I just cannot believe that the Bible was channeled straight from God. I think about half of it is history and the rest is a fascinating myth. But then, I was raised as an agnostic.

I got especially frustrated after hearing one of the parents who was pushing to get creationism taught in schools.

"People need to open their minds to the fact that there are other theories about how the world was created." she chirped.

Uh, yeah, lady, and perhaps you are one of those people!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!