Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:30 p.m. - 2002-10-29
Whining About Artist's Block
Ugh. My mood today can best be described as "piss-poor".

I am really having a terrible time with artist's block, and I'm truly scared that my show in December will have one painting in it. A painting that isn't even any good.

I tried to explain it to Bruce one night. "Imagine that you suddenly felt that there was nothing left for you to research, that you had done everything you were intereted in doing with fish and to do anything else would be redundant. Or it would require knowledge that you didn't have, and would take way too much time and energy to get. And besides that, you felt maybe your research just wasn't that good in the first place and you found that you really just didn't care that much about it anymore."

I don't think he really had an answer for me. I'm not sure I have an answer for myself.

It's definately getting on my nerves. Other things are getting on my nerves, too. Things that usually don't bother me, like Burroughs meowing at the kitchen door because he hasn't eaten for two hours. Or the bunnies incessant begging for pellets and pineapple. Tylenol doing the Siamese howl upstairs...

And it's 70 degrees outside - perfect gardening weather. If I wasn't obsessing about this show, I could grab a shovel and go plant the rest of the irises, or finish clearing out the brick courtyard.

I think I need to get out of the house. I'll go to Kroger and buy a bunch of junk food - chocolate eclairs, Little Susie snack cakes, some cherry soda. Perhaps the Muse will respond to a sugar rush.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!