Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:17 p.m. - 2002-10-26
100 List
There is a Diaryland tradition that I think is very goofy but...it seems everyone on Diaryland that I respect has done it and it is a tradition and I have to respect it....I guess! It's the "100 list", a list of 100 quirky things about the writer, and at least one of those things has to be totally outrageous.

Those of you who know me well probably know most of these things already, though by the time I get to 100 I'll probably have to get a bit obscure! Bruce is going to help me out, so...without further ado, let's get the outrageous one over with first, shall we?

1. I once had sex in Lincoln Park, in Chicago. In the daytime.

2. I'm apparently descended from a brother of William Barker, one of those accused of witchcraft at Salem.

3. My grandfather believed I was a changeling.

4. My favorite antique rose is the Apothecary rose. My second favorite is Adelaide D'Orleans.

5. Two of my spinal vertebrae are fused together.

6. I have complex partial seizures triggered by low blood sugar and Industrial/Techno music.

7. I have four cats and two rabbits.

8. I was born on Halloween.

9. I've lived in seven haunted houses.

10. I was once thrown out of an art school class for bringing in a dead pigeon to draw.

11. Sometimes I wear Bruce's underwear.

12. My first word when I was a baby was "flower".

13. I went to Antioch College for one semester, but was put off by all the rich kids so I left.

14. I'm married to someone who memorizes grocery store PLU codes.

15. My favorite sweater is made out of yak wool and has yin yang symbols on it.

16. One of my favorite drinks is Coke mixed with orange juice.

17. I make a great pan of Bubble-and-Squeak.

18. I was an honours student at Massachusetts College of Art. I didn't graduate.

19. My favorite clothes have charms sewn into them.

20. I used to make a living as an artist's model.

21. My favorite Northern food is fried clams.

22. My favorite Southern food is crawfish etoufee.

23. My favorite cities in the world are New Orleans and Delft, Holland.

24. My grandfather came from Leicester, England.

25. I used to hitchhike everywhere.

26. I once completely freaked out my mother by calling her at three a.m. from a truckstop in Toledo, Ohio.

28. I was once told that I paint like a brain surgeon.

29. My parents house was built on land that at one time was used as a cemetary. The gates and perpetual care markers are still there.

30. My Dad has serious asthma. He was born with a cleft palette and a hare lip.

31. I know how to get to the Monk's Cave in Wendell, Massachusetts.

32. I once asked for the help of Marie Laveau.I got it.

33.If you come to dinner at my house, I'll probably serve you salmon stew with dill.

34. When I was a kid my mom had 50 cats.

35. I never went to church after the age of four because my mom had an argument with the minister about whether or not animals have souls.

36. I collected holy dirt at El Sanctuaria in New Mexico.

37. I've seen the bat's flight at Carlsbad Caverns in New Mexico.

38. One of my earliest memories is of seeing the Beatles on Ed Sullivan when I was four. I was disappointed because I thought they would be puppets like the Muppets.

39. I had my first case of pneumonia when I was two months old.

40. I'm nearly impossible to anesthetize.

41. I've worn the same bathrobe for 18 years. Yes, it has patches.

42. My strangest possession is my great-great grandmother's coffin plate.

43. For several years when I was little I wanted to be a nun. I wasn't raised as a Catholic.

44. At bars I drink Guinness or Woodchuck Cider.

45. I lived in a schoolbus for a year when I was 22 years old.

46. My sewing machine is one month younger than I am.

47. My house was built the same year I was born.

48. I often steal cuttings of plants from nurseries. I can't control myself!

49. I always plant pansies because they were my grandfather's favorite flower.

50. I took Latin in high school. Semper ubi sub ubi!

51. I saw a black widow spider today.

52. I used to have a collection of human bones. I still have a cat skeleton.

53. I never read a book from cover to cover. I always start in the middle, go to the end, and then back to the beginning again.

54. I have only taken L.S.D. once. Thanks, David.

55. Six years ago I visited the grave of Mercy Brown, who was accused of being a vampire in Rhode Island in the 1800's.

56. Last year I met her great-great granddaughter.

57. I found a dead taco in my car last week.

58. I sat on a pair of scissors when I was 11 years old and had to have a tetanus shot because of the puncture wound.

59. I've seen the Infant of Prague.

60. When I was 13 I wore my shoes on the wrong feet for a week on a dare.

61. I can write my name with my right foot. It's even legible.

62. My favorite 60's song is "Waterloo Sunset" by the Kinks. This is closely followed by "When We Are Dust" by Fleetwood Mac.

63. My favorite British ballad is "Tam Lin", followed closely by "Twa Sisters".

64. I was the Clamshell Alliance representative to the 1979 Yippie Convention.

65. I once went sledding in the Arnold Arboretum at 3 a.m.

66. I hate pumping gas. I always make Bruce pump it for me.

67. When I was at Mass Art the guards at the MFA knew me as "Red".

68. I have strings of Tibetan bells in my car.

69. I also have a braid of Simon's hair hanging from my rear view mirror.

70. I was almost hit by lightning when I was four.

71. I've only been arrested once. For hitchhiking.

72. My hair went prematurely gray when I was 24.

73. I frequently find foreign coins on sidewalks.

74. I go to a fortune teller at least once a year.

75. I've read Kerouac's "Dharma Bums" at least 15 times.

76. My nickname in art school was "No Quarter".

77. My nickname at the pottery studio I once worked at was "Little No Shoes".

78. When I was three years old I punched my older sister in the nose. It bled.

79. When I was 6 years old I was on the cover of the Mont Vernon, NH town report.

80. I have a wall full of heart shaped objects in my hall.

81. I have met B.F. Skinner, E.O. Wilson, and the ethnobotanist Richard Schultes.

82. I wrote a gardening column for the Milford Cabinet newspaper when I was in high school.

83. I was the last person to move into 20 Ashford Street.

84. I had a dream about two collapsing towers a month before September 11th.

85. I obsessively collect and roll my change.

86. I only wear silk underwear (except when I'm wearing Bruce's).

87. I prefer candy coffee. Hazelnut, anyone?

88. Or Arabic coffee, which I learned to make from a mad Morrocan artist.

89. I have a black cat collection.

90. I'm superstitious about cutting holly and wearing new clothes on Friday.

91. I carry cans of cat food in my glove compartment in case I see a stray cat.

92. Bruce and I saw "Repo Man" on our first date.

93. I read the Bhagavad Gita when I was 14.

94. My favorite poet is Shelley. My second favorite is Ferlinghetti. My third favorite is Yeats.

95. I take at least one bath a day, usually two. Sometimes three. And I'm not obsessive-compulsive!

96. I was a serious insomniac when I was a child.

97. I'm terrified of the dark. I have trouble sleeping alone.

98. I got married on the anniversary of Elvis Presley's death. It was also the Harmonic Convergence.

99. I've eaten alligator. It tasted like something that came from a swamp.

100. I have a tiny, tiny piece of Frida Kahlo's house.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!