Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:03 p.m. - 2002-10-22
More Geneology
I got exciting news yesterday! Well, exciting news if you're into geneology....

My cousin John called this weekend, but between going to Kentuck and having strange brain activity and wrestling the quince bush and my total ineptitude with international phone calls I didn't get to call him back until last night. He was all fired up.

"Yer can't believe it, love!" he burbled. "I've got some hot news!"

"Hot nose?" I still have trouble with John's accent at times. My grandfather is probably rolling in his grave at my non-grasp of the Queen's English.

"Noooooo love! Hot neeeews! I found yer cousin!"

He had, too. My grandfather's brother, Albert, went to Australia in the early 1900's and disappeared. It's been bugging the hell out of John that he hasn't been able to find any information on Albert except his death certificate. So he's been combing the Australian phone books to try and find Albert's son, William.

Evidently he found him this weekend. William is 88 years old, very deaf but basically sound, and lives about 20 minutes away from John. He has two daughters. One of those daughters is interested in the family history, and when she gets back from her vacation in two weeks they are all going to get together and have a long talk.

"Do yer want to come?" asks John. "I mean, you missed the reunion in England. You can stay with us! You've got a credit card don't you? I mean, William's 88, he's not going to wait around, you know!"

It's so tempting. Sooooooooo tempting. Sigh.

As if this stirring discovery weren't enough, John also has been in touch with another insane family member in Leicester who has traced the family back to the 1300's. She is sending him a copy of her research. She claims we have ancestors who were involved in Guy Fawkes plot to blow up Parliament. Yes, my family aren't just English Catholics, they are insane English Catholics.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!