Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:26 p.m. - 2002-10-13
Irises and Owls
My brain is just fried. Just completely fried. I spent all morning and early afternoon digging up hundreds, literally hundreds, of sadly neglected and overgrown and desperate to be dug up and divided irises from our side yard. Bruce got home around 3 p.m. and we had some guacamole together, and then we both went out and dug up more irises and then even more irises. After that Bruce pulled all the noxious honeysuckle (if you live in the South honeysuckle is noxious - remember, we're in the land of nine month growing seasons and evil viney things here...) and smilax out from around the mailbox so that we could plant it with....irises.

Did you think I was going to say Rudbeckia, perhaps?!

Anyway, I now have piles of irises that need to be put into the ground. Some of them will go back where they came from. Others will go into the area near our guest room window. And still others will go...I don't know where. I've already sent some of them to Sarah, and I would certainly be thrilled to palm off some more on iris-loving friends. They're very easy care! Honest? Any takers?

***********************************************

The most exciting event of the last few days? No contest - it's gotta be the Great Horned Owl that showed up in the back yard on Friday. I was sitting out there wondering whether the jungle could ever be made to behave itself when I saw a mega-humongous bird. I'm not kidding when I say it was one of the largest birds I've ever seen. I very dopily thought it was an eagle for about two seconds! It lit on a branch and we stared at eachother for about ten minutes before it flew off.

************************************************

We also have a dead raccoon in the backyard. I was giving Trudy, Lucy and Jean the tour on Friday and I had happily shown them the entrance to Mr. Groundhog's abode. A few minutes later Trudy very gently patted my arm and pointed to the sad corpse.

"That's not Mr. Groundhog, is it?" she asked, genuinely concerned. I went over and looked. Nope, not Mr. G. The relief in the air was palpable.

"You could come out in the spring and dig up the skeleton." suggested Lucy. A woman after my own heart.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!