Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:24 p.m. - 2002-09-27
Rabbit Music
Despite Miss Bunny's pasturella flareup, the bunnies have been having a good week. Bruce gave them a huge cardboard box to play in, and they've been spending most of their time hanging out inside it, pushing it around, or just ripping the sides of it to shreds.

Ah, bunnies! So easily amused.

Since Miss Bunny hasn't been feeling well I've also been playing some of their favorite music to keep them calm. Yes, the bunnies do have their favorites. I know this because when I put certain music on they either relax totally into a state of blissful lounge, or they start doing the "happy bunny dance", which is a series of bizarre twitching movements that rabbits make when they're happy. In rabbit-owner's slang this little spaz-dance is called "bees in the head". Kind of says it all, doesn't it?The first time I saw Loki doing this I thought he was having a seizure and rushed him to the vet.

So what do rabbits consider way hip? Loki and Mirage's five all time favorite, guarantee to induce butt-twitching albums are:

Tom Waits/"Rain Dogs": Go figure! They're Tom Waits fans!

Dark Shadows Sound Track: I am eternally grateful to Simon for recording this for me, because it has soothed many rabbit disturbances. The minute they hear the opening notes of the Dark Shadows theme they go into serious lounge mode. It must be the hypnotic voice of Barnabus Collins. Or perhaps the judicious use of theramin.

Cocteau Twins: Actually anything by Cocteau Twins will get them blissed out. But then, Cocteau Twins get me blissed out so maybe they're just picking up on my mood.

Rasputina/"Thanks For The Ether": They love this! But weirdly, they don't like "How We Left The Forest". It causes instant rabbit riots so now I only play it when I'm in the car.

Tibetan Buddhism/Tantras of Gyuto: Mahakala: I can't figure this one out either but man, they just love those growly monks. I guess they're just very spiritual rabbits. I wonder what the Tibetan Monks who recorded this would think if they saw the effect their music has on the buns. Serious Twitchout!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!