Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:08 p.m. - 2002-09-25
Art Rave
Bruce, with evil grin on face: "You know, you never talk about sex on Diaryland."

Me, totally serious: "Would you like me to?"

Bruce, with look of total shock and horror: "WHAT?! NO!! I'm just kidding! NO!!!"

There you have it folks. You'll never hear about my sex life on Diaryland.

***************************************************

You will hear about my painting class though. I'm becoming known as the student who is always completely prepared with every art supply imaginable. You want a miniature tape measure to measure off your canvas? You want vine charcoal? You want a white General charcoal pencil? You want plastic to wrap your canvas in after class?

It's kind of embarassing. Today one of my classmates mentioned she wished she had a piece of candy because she had a tickle in her throat, and I dutifully snagged one out of my art kit. I swear the whole class turned around and stared at me as I handed it to her. I guess I'm just an artistic pack rat...

My underdrawing for the painting is going well though. Jack seemed very happy with it, which unfortunately means I don't get quite as much attention as the rest of the class. I'm doing fine, so he spends more time with the struggling ones. I know that I should take this as a complement, and that I shouldn't be so selfish and egotistical as to want a lot of attention when I don't need it.

But I confess that much of my art school career was like this, feeling a little left out because I could seemingly take care of myself and sort out my own art quirks and problems. Knowing that my work wasn't perfect but not knowing quite how to make it better, and not wanting to bother the instructor because he was busy helping the mindless bimbo in the corner who was more worried about her smeary lipstick than her smeary charcoal....

But other than this non-problem, I'm really, really liking the class, and I'm realizing that this is exactly what I need at this point in my life. It makes me realise how much I love art, when I'm not trying to create the biggest masterpiece in Western Civilisation and instead I'm just happily drawing away, surrounded by other people happily drawing away and listening to an instructor who is intellectually stimulating.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!