Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:57 a.m. - 2002-09-25
Rose Blather
Woke up this morning with my fingers swollen up like Vienna sausages, but at least my hips were functional. It's all the gardening that I've been insisting on doing in this wet, hot weather - it makes my arthritis go crazy....

Came downstairs to find Miss Bunny not feeling so hot, either. Her Pasturella infection is flaring up again. It's in her tear duct and this morning there's a swelling coming up on her cheek as well. I have some sterile needles from Ty's subcutaneous fluids, and I could lance this. I've done it before, but I think if we can get an appointment with Alvin in the next couple of days I'll let him take care of it. I'm just not feeling like Miss Veterinary Superhero - it's too close to her eye for me to be playing around with a needle. Miss Bunny has enough problems without losing an eye to my non-professional vet skills. And how would I explain it to Alvin? "Gee, uh, duh...."

And it's raining like mad out! Again!

It stopped long enough on Sunday for us to plant the roses. We were going to do some painting, but all the rain has loosened the famous hard-as-bricks Alabama clay into something you can actually get a shovel into, so we decided to do shovel-ey sorts of things instead.

I have two long-suffering roses that have been in containers for several years. The first is a David Austin rose, "Golden Celebration", which Bruce got me for Valentine's Day the first year we were here. It's admittedly a modern rose (I'm an antique rose snob, I confess) but when I saw it I had to have it. First of all, it has that old rose shaggy look to it, second of all it's gold, not that sickly yellow that so many modern roses are, and third, it smells classicly rosey with just a tiny hint of honey. No lack of fragrance or, worse yet, just plain weird fragrance here!

Of course, it also gets black spot like a five year old gets headlice, but we all have our faults.

Our second one is a rose I saved from the trash at Home Depot. Well, I don't limit my rescues to half-dead cats and rabbits, you know! It was labeled as a pink rose, "Indiana" but when it finally recovered enough to bloom it was deep red, and the blooms were enormous! Enormous! And very smelly! So it must have died back to the rootstock, which is fortunate because I like this rose much better than I think I would have like "Indiana" which looked a bit wimpy, quite honestly.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!