Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:24 p.m. - 2002-09-07
Cranky Bats
Several things have happened in the last few days to make me cranky: The Beth-and-Joey-Your-House-Is-Ugly nonsense came to a head last weekend, and I told them off, and they both apologised profusely and Beth is now "in shock" and "terribly, terribly sorry"; our landlady at Wells Avenue is giving us ridiculous amounts of scronk because the disgusting carpets in there smell and she can't face the fact that they are ancient and need to be replaced, but instead wants to blame it on our cats (it's obvious she's never had cats since she can't differenciate between cat smell and mold smell); and we painted the dining room an orange colour that looked fabulous on the card and even in the large test patches that I painted all over the place, but absolutely hideous when the room was done. So hideous I couldn't face it at all and so today we repainted it a light Wedgewood blue.

I'm refusing to give myself over to the Lords of Crank though. It actually seems to have been a pleasant week, which is probably due to the fact that I can walk out my back door at any moment and see hummingbirds, any number of butterflies, the white ginger and plumeria which are blooming right now, perhaps the elusive Mr. Groundhog...

And there was an opening at Bare Hands last night which Bruce insisted we drive down for. I was all for packing it in and staying home with some Chinese take-out, but Bruce had come home early to go so I took a shower and scavenged a decent dress and some jewelery from the moving boxes, and off we went.

The drive to Birmingham is so boring. They need some good cheesey tourist traps on that road to spice it up.

All sorts of lovely folks showed up. I'm realising I actually have more friends in Birmingham than I do in Huntsville. The art scene there is more serious and funky, and people are somewhat looser. Bruce and I have been a bit out of the loop because of house preoccupation so I had some catching up to do.

And Wendy gave me a check for work sold, which of course is always a happy event, although these days I have been trying to put all my art money into a house maintenance emergency fund, so it isn't like I get to go on any fabulous spending sprees.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!