Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:41 p.m. - 2002-08-28
Maybe we should cut all the doors in the house down by an inch. Or maybe two or three.
Let's have a two-minute-hate for carpet installers, shall we?

Not all carpet installers, just the ones from Old Gin, who happen to be messing up our guest room carpeting right now. Basically they have installed the carpet so that the closet doors don't shut, and their solution to this is to suggest that we cut down the doors by about an inch. In their freakin' dreams we'll cut down the doors!

Bruce called them today and had a polite snit out with them and they are insisting that it is really the best solution but, oh, all right, they suppose they could honour us with their presence tomorrow and perhaps figure out something else that wouldn't involve power tools. Like putting in the carpet the right way.

And they were supposed to install the hardwood floor in the upstairs bedroom a week ago and we have yet to see a single scrap of wood.

Grrrrrr. I can't talk about this anymore because I'm about to turn into the Scorpio Ice Queen and show you all my really, really bad side....

******************************************

What did I do in a previous life to deserve problems like these? I could be starving in a third world country, or even dragging scraps of food out of garbage cans in this country, but no, instead I am whining about carpet installers. I sound like such a bougie queen.

*******************************************

I spent all day today, when I wasn't steaming about carpet installers, cleaning the Wells Avenue House. I had been bracing myself for a really hideous mess but was shocked to find that it actually wasn't so bad. I was on my knees scrubbing the kitchen floor when Cheryl stopped by. I haven't talked to her for awhile, even though she's called a couple of times. I've been feeling so uncomfortable about the whole Beth-Joey-Your-House-Is-Ugly thing that I just haven't really wanted to show the house off. I want to have it to myself for awhile, so Bruce and I can get to a point where we're happy with it without worrying too much what everyone else thinks. I worry too much about other people's opinions - I don't know why I let myself get hurt by them.

Anyway, I did relent with Cheryl though, and gave her our new number and told her to come on down. We always seem to have these good conversations and Cheryl's been very supportive of this move. I can't be a hermit forever.

Actually, that's not such a bad idea...

********************************************

One thing about this moving business is that it seems to be causing me endless pain. Not only am I becoming brain dead, I hurt a lot, too.

During the major we-have-a-U-Haul-and-we-know-how-to-use-it freakout on Saturday I tore my ankle on a rose thorn. About 10 minutes later I wanged the same ankle on...I don't know, something really nasty. By the end of the day I had an egg sized lump, about the size of, ummmm, what's a bird with an egg in between the size of a hummingbird egg and a chicken egg? Would that be like a robin's egg? Yes, that's it! I had a robin's egg sized lump, which continued to swell and hurt and make me limp until today.

Yesterday I was sitting on the new carpet with Bruce when suddenly I felt something stab me with a big ice pick. Or that's what it felt like. I still don't know if I was bitten by an insect, or got stuck on something. Bruce thought I had a pulled muscle, but this evening I noticed I have a very strange bruise. It's of concern because we have poisonous spiders here in Alabama and, of course, every time I get a mysterious weird skin thing I start thinking about all the nasty spider bite stories I've heard. Evidently most people don't die from spider bites, they just lose whatever part gets bitten, like their fingers or arms or toes or noses or...whatever.

And today I have a flare up of the arthritis in my hand. When I had my hand injury the surgeon warned me I would have arthritis, especially because of my history of lupus. I had sort of hoped to prove him wrong, but no, this year it has really started to throb and swell. I have to confess I've become pretty depressed about it - more than anything this makes me feel like I'm getting old.

Whiney today, aren't we?

**************************************

Ok, here is a spot of lovely news - we have a stove!! And it works!! It got delivered on Monday. Oooooh, I can't tell you the thrill of making dinner on your very own stove, in your very own kitchen, in your very own house!! It's just divine, especially after eating take out for several weeks. When it was delivered I immediately opened a can of lentil soup while the delivery man was filling out some paper work. I think he thought I was a bit simple-minded - I was walking around kind of giggling and humming to myself.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!