Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:43 p.m. - 2002-08-05
A Barber Shop Quartet Version of Mac the Knife
This is starting to feel like the diary of Mr. Groundhog.

I saw him again today. He definately lives in the T.S. Eliot section. As my cousin John would say, he's a cute little bugger, and every time I see him I run to the window to get a better look.

Can you tell I've been living in the city too long? I'm acting like I've never seen a real live animal before.

I think I'm just desperate for distraction. I'm on my fifth straight day of painting and the end is nowhere in sight. Complicating things is the fact that aliens have abducted Bruce and replaced him with someone who actually cares whether the guest room walls are chicken shit green or not.

This is an actual quote from the alien impersonating Bruce: "I don't want any chicken shit green".

He also wanted orange for the room which we are sharing as my studio and his office. After much hemming and hawing and weighing of alternatives, we decided that the most logical place for my studio was the huge downstairs living room, and since I won't need all of it, we're going to put knee high bunny baricades down the center so Bruce can have his office and all its attendant electrical cords on the other side. It'll solve the problem of my being lonely in the studio, and also it means if we can ever afford a DSL hookup we won't have to fight over whether it'll go into his office or my studio.

I'm dying for a DSL hookup. I really, desperately, want to listen to some decent radio over the internet because Huntspatch is the epitomal radio dead zone. I hate to say nasty things about the local public radio station because three of my friends work there, but there's no getting around it, it's just awful.

There are two sort of halfway decent alternative shows on for about an hour each at weird hours, and then a good blues show for a few hours on Saturday, and I once heard a fantastic recording of Lotte Lenya and Duke Ellington rehearsing Mac the Knife, but that's it.

The rest of the time is taken up with an incipid morning show which features such charmers as a barber shop quartet version of the "Good Ship Lollipop" (you think I'm kidding, don't you?) and an equally insipid classical music show in the afternoons (which Miss Beth is actually the announcer of - she claims she can't play anything really stirring because the little old ladies complain) and endless repeats of "Car Talk" and "Prairie Home Companion" on the weekends.

I'm desperate for BBC4.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!