Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:59 a.m. - 2002-07-13
I Want To Knock Their Heads Together (in the nicest possible way of course.)
Yesterday I had one of those days when I wanted to take my friends, whom I love dearly, and knock thier heads together.

Sigh.

Catherine was in sort of a snit with me because she wanted us all to go to Birmingham in a sort of caravan for the opening (which I didn't even want anyone to go to! I'm just not into making a big deal out of these things, but this is, of course, the South and so everything has to be a megahumongous social occasion...oh dear, I'm in a mood this morning...) but she couldn't leave from work until five and Bruce and I had to go at four because I had to bring food down and be there for the patrons reception. She really wanted us to go later so she could ride with us. And Beth and Joey didn't want to go till much later because...they are Joey and Beth.

So Catherine was not happy with us, and wound up just not going.

And Joey is in a snit with us because we are buying the Hickory Hill house and not some cute and trendy and expensive and falling apart place in Five Points. We are being Uncool. And we are not being Convenient to Our Friends. Last night, after they finally arrived at the opening, he made a snitty comment to Bruce about how he hoped we had lots of parties because otherwise they probably just wouldn't come by.

(Imagine snarfing, gnashing teeth noises.) I don't really know what to do about this. I love the house and I wish my friends could see the potential in it, too. Beth is trying to be diplomatic, telling everyone she thinks the house will be really cute when we get done and she thinks it will be a really good place for us, even though I know how she really feels about it. Only Cheryl and Jenn have been greatly supportive of this. Cheryl because she is a little more connected to reality and realises that she got her little house in Five Points before the prices skyrocketed, and also because she is really into cosmetic fixer-uppers and is excited about helping pick out paint colours and ceramic tile. Jenn has a family in a little house and appreciates our need for space and land and a house that is structurally sound....


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!