Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:28 p.m. - 2002-07-03
Bruce Goes To A Conference
My anchor is gone. Bruce drove off a few minutes ago, on his way to Nashville to catch a plane to Kansas City, where he'll be at a fish-n-reptile convention for a few days. He's presenting a paper on...small fish.

I always have trouble with this. Bruce has been the stable point in my otherwise wackily neurotic life for so long that when he's away I feel ungrounded and as though I am about to fly away with the next wind. I wander the house like a ghost, thinking of things I want to talk to him about and starting when I realise it will have to be by telephone, late at night, when he's back at his hotel.

And speaking of ghosts, and late at night, I have a terrible fear of the darkness which I've had since I was a child, so the whole time he is gone I will revert to my pre-Bruce, pre-18-years-of-being-able-to-sleep-at-night schedule of sleeping till noon and being awake till 5 am. I almost always dream of wraiths trying to speak to me.

The last couple of hours before he left we spent running around to the seller's agent to sign a post-inspection addendum and then to a sandwich shop, then to the greenhouse at UAH to water the plants (the plumeria is beautiful and smells like potted Hawaii) and to feed Nigel, our monitor lizard, an egg. And then Bruce gathered up his things and drove away, waving his hand out the window until I couldn't see him anymore.

Sigh. I miss him. Ain't love grand?


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!