Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:29 p.m. - 2002-07-01
Home Inspection
A big, big sigh of relief is being heaved as I write this because... our home inspection was not a mess. In fact, our home inspection was fabulous. As Phil, our home inspector said: "Your house is ugly, but structurally it's a damn fine house!"

And then he caught himself and said, "well, uh, actually it's not really ugly. I mean, it's like an ugly duckling. You know, it could be a really pretty house. I didn't really mean to say it was ugly. Um..."

Anyway, in real estate parlance, our house is cosmetically challenged, but in home inspector parlance, it's a damn fine house. It's only problems were some electrical quirks and a minor leak in the roof due to bad flashing which the owners have already agreed to fix, and the upstairs bathroom has not got a whole lot of pressure in the faucet, which can also be fixed pretty easily.

It's a trip to wander around your future house with an inspector. Bruce couldn't come on this adventure as he's getting ready to go to a convention on Wednesday.** So I padded around after Phil, who tried valiantly to explain the mysteries of the slab constructed house, what it actually means that our house has 400 amps coming into it (it means I can have pottery kilns! It means I can run the toaster and the washer at the same time!) and the wonders of having a drain intercept already cut through the concrete in the garage.

I must admit, most of this went completely over my head. Most of the time Phil's joyous litany of happy house technicalities sounded something like: "Oh, look, this is great! The bibble dooper is connected to the rummy stomper at the side connection point instead of over at the top of the sniggly like most people would do it" or " Gosh, you haven't got any yuggers here! That could be ready bad! Oh, no wait, here's a yugger right here, I take that back!"

** (He'll be gone for Fourth of July, which is oh so lovely since we are supposedly going to be attacked by hoards of malicious Al Quaida terrorists. I just hope they don't target Huntsville or Kansas City! Golly!)


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!