Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:18 p.m. - 2002-06-03
House Accoutrements
"The minute we buy a house I'm going to go get a coffeemaker!"

"Mmmhmmnn." Bruce is hardly paying attention. I've been making these pronouncements since last August, which is when we officially started househunting. At least once a day I start reeling off lists of everything I plan to have in the new house, which is truly absurd since after putting down all that downpayment moola we probably won't have $37.99 left for a coffeemaker. But it consoles me to think, in my househunting misery, that when all is finally said and done I will have a house with a coffeemaker on the kitchen counter.

And a toaster! We gave away our toaster when we moved to Alabama, and although it was only a cheap little aluminum thing I miss it terribly, particularly when my stomach is acting up and I have to be on a toast diet for a few days. Toast made in the oven or frying pan just isn't as...toasty.

I have given in to a few things already. I saw a fabulous Mexican sink on Ebay a couple of weeks ago and couldn't resist it. Bruce was tolerant, especially since it stopped me from whining for a few days about not actually having a house to put the sink in. Even when reality struck me and it finally really dawned on me that I had bought a SINK, for God's sake, he reassured me that, one way or another we would put it to good use, even if that meant hanging it on the wall as an art piece.

I bought a toilet seat, too! We were wandering through Home Depot last weekend, pretending that we actually had a house to pick out Home Depotesque things for, when I saw it. The toilet seat of my dreams.

It's basically sort of blue, and it has one of those strange 3-D-esque effects on it where if you look at it from one angle it seems to have a bunch of butterflies on it, and if you look at it from another angle it has pink roses. Trippy! I couldn't control myself, and I was egged on by the fact that it was the very last one, and was on Clearance to boot!

We couldn't figure out how to get the display model off the rack. Bruce hailed a friendly Home Depot employee who just happened to be one of his freshman biology students. To Bruce's credit, instead of being embarrassed he pressed on, unfazed by the thought of his student reporting back to all his classmates that Professor Stallsmith and his wacky red-haired wife had bought a psychedelic 3-D toilet seat.

On the way home I had a horrific thought - what if we wound up in a house with oval toilets instead of round ones?


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!