Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:38 p.m. - 2002-05-12
More Dauphin Island
Mmmmmmmm....Dauphin Island was truly lovely, and we spent the last two days much the same way as we spent the first, (see previous entry guaranteed to make you groan with it's titilatingly florid prose) except the sky was a slightly lighter shade of blue and the clouds were more like cotton balls instead of swan feathers. Bruce and I spent most of a day bobbing around in the gentle ocean waves, pretending to be jellyfish.

People keep asking me if I miss the ocean "up North". I realised this weekend that I do miss certain aspects of the Northern Atlantic. I miss the little, round, white beach stones to be precise. And I miss the cobblestones on Cuttyhunk. So very sculptural! However, I do not, repeat DO NOT, miss the freezing cold North Atlantic ocean water. It leaves me with blue lips and shaking fingers and it takes me hours to recover from even the shortest dip.

Before I really got acquainted with the Gulf Coast waters I did miss it. I really did. But then I realised - why would I miss heart-stoppingly freezing cold water when I can just as easily bob around in the same basic ocean, only with water cool enough to be refreshing but not cold enough to leave me gasping for breath?

So anyway, we spent hours in the ocean. Literally. Try that at Halibut Point and see how fast you're rushed to the hospital with hypothermia!

But we did other things besides imitate sea otters! We went to the very educational Fort Gaines, a Civil War Fort just down the street from the Sea Lab. A dour looking man in a Confederate soldier's uniform, authentic down to his very pronounced body odor, took our five dollars and set us loose in the fort. Bruce, who had been reluctant to come, suddenly got really excited about it and started taking photos of the cannons, the view off the embankments, the latrines...

Yes, the latrines. The folks at Fort Gaines are very proud of their latrines. As their sign crows: "This is not just any latrine!! This is a 10 holer!" Bruce wanted to take my picture sitting on one of the holes, but I absolutely refused. I mean, really! Sometimes I just lose my sense of humour....

And we had dinner at the Seafood Galley, which was so outrageously delicious I can't even begin to describe it...I had a blackened seafood plate which was just to die for.

And we fed the stray cats again, and I decided that they were probably actually taken care of at least a little by the folks at the bakery they are living behind, but I gave them several cans of sardines anyway.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!