Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:53 p.m. - 2002-05-10
Laying on the Fabulous Beach
Imagine yourself lying on an endless beach of cream coloured sand. Above you the dome of the sky is cerulean blue, with fluffy clouds, like swan feathers, scattered across it. It's late in the afternoon, and the sun is hot, but not oppressive. The only noise you hear is the calls of terns and gulls, and the crashing of the waves against the beach.

I'm sorry, I don't really mean to torture you, but this is a description of where I was last night! Bruce has been appointed the UAH representative to the Dauphin Island Field Station, off Mobile Bay, and he came down this weekend to attend a meeting. "And of course you'll bring your family!" the nice coordinating people said, so of course he did.

It's really beautiful. We were here once before but it was in March and too cold to swim. That trip was remarkable though for my astounding find of an entire pelican skeleton on the beach. It was fascinating, and I spent an endless amount of time figuring out how all the bones went together.

This trip I managed to find a fabulous jellyfish on the beach. It was a beautiful transparent blue, and I was very excited by it. When I showed it to Bruce, though, he was less than pleased.

"Ummmmmm....I think that's actually a very poisonous one." he said, with a marked lack of enthusiasm. "You actually might not want to handle that."

I also found a dessicated dead hermit crab, which I'm taking home.

And I fed sardines to some cats living behind the local bakery. They looked in reasonably good shape for strays, but still obviously enjoyed the super stinky fish bits.

And now I have to end this. I have a very pressing engagement with some waves.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!