Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:45 p.m. - 2002-04-07
Yet More Whining About Hickory Hill
We went to moon over the Hickory Hill house AGAIN today. I am trying desperately to fall in love with other houses, but I seem to be as monogamous in my home buying as I am in my marriage. I just want this house....

We are doing the waiting thing. David thinks if we give the owners enough time they will come down on the price on their own. He thinks that not too many other people will be interested in it. Yet it's nerve wracking - what if there are a couple of people just as lunatic as Bruce and I who have tons more money and don't care about overpaying for a cosmetically challenged house with a seriously overgrown backyard?

And it is seriously overgrown. I think we're talking three years of weekends to put it back in shape.

It's getting worse, too. When I saw it today I started wondering if Home Depot sells machetes. All the noxious cupleaf plant is up and getting overgrown, there are out of control vines and honeysuckle which is taking over a corner of the yard. Of course, this makes the house even more undesirable for the average family, so I suppose I should be glad for these overbearing plants.

Other things were making their appearances as well. A straggly delphinium poked out of a mess of ivy. A couple of azaleas were doing their best to bloom, and the rose bush at the side of the house was budding up. We also unearthed, quite by accident, a small section of the yard, surrounded by bushes, which had at one time been a little brick courtyard, but which inexplicably had been covered with dirt. Cleaned up, it would be the perfect place to eat ice cream on summer nights.

Sigh. I really, really, reeeeaaaaaallllly want this house.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!