Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:57 p.m. - 2002-03-27
Car Free In Huntspatch
Bruce was trapped at home today.

In a classic "this is the story of Bruce and Ruth's life" moment, both of our vehicles broke down at the same time. I can only assume that when the Toyota started panting and making "I need a tune-up baaaaaad" noises on Saturday, the Ford decided that it could not sit alone in the driveway without her and just had to go occupy the next bay over at Goodyear. So, it did something it has, unfortunately, done at least six times in the last six months. It burned out it's starter.

I'm not kidding. The starter has burned out at least once a month for six months. We take it to Goodyear, and they put in a rebuilt starter, and a month later it burns out, and we take it back to Goodyear and since it is under warrantee they replace it with another rebuilt starter for free. And then, of course, a month later it burns out again.

Except this time it has only been two weeks. The poor Ford just could not live without Trisha Toyota. I suppose the burnt starter is the truck equivalent of a broken heart.

So Dr. Bruce was trapped at home. I tried my best to continue on with my work as usual, but he was hard to ignore. First of all, a restless six-foot-two-inch, 220 pound man is hard to overlook. He kept wandering into the studio announcing things like "I'm going to read a magazine now" and "I'm going to eat a peanut butter sandwich now", and then at one point he just kind of collapsed on the bed with an "I'm dying of boredom" look on his face. At which point Tylenol climbed onto his chest and the two of them lay there staring into space for awhile.

Every time the phone rang he would leap up, yelling "It's Goodyear!!" but of course it was several telemarketers who, in the end, were probably sorry they called.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!