Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:10 a.m. - 2002-03-26
Burmaham Flower Boxes
Yesterday was quite a lovely day, actually. We spent the whole day in Birmingham. I really like Birmingham. It's full of demented metal sculptors and the main feature of the city is a huge statue of a very hunky Vulcan.

People from Alabama pronounce it "Berminham" like "vermin-ham" or "Burmaham" like "Burmashave". And it's full of funky bars and restaurants and run-down buildings that used to be whorehouses back in the '30's, and the whole effect reminds me of Boston when I first moved there years and years ago. Like something really wonderful is brewing under the surface and in a couple of years it will bubble up and Burmaham will become one of those "cool places to be".

I spend as much time as I can in Burmingham.

Yesterday we had to bring Miss Bunny down to see her vet,Alvin, because one of her antibiotic beads came up through her abcess site and... well... it's a yucky story so I won't go through the whole description. Suffice to say that it was actually an easy fix and Miss Bunny and Alvin had their usual lovefest.

The next stop was Bare Hands, where we spent the rest of the day planting Wendy's flower boxes. At the risk of sounding goopy, I had a really seriously glorious day. The weather was slightly overcast but the temperature was perfect and the air just reeked of spring, and filling flower boxes with dianthus and marigolds and snapdragons and salvia was exactly what I needed to be doing.

And we got some treats, too! I gave a piece of my art to a ceramicist named Katie a few months ago and Wendy reminded me that I was supposed to take some of her work in return. Bruce and I each picked out one of Katie's tiny boxes and a shaker. I have a real thing for shakers, and Katie's fit rather perfectly in my hands and make odd tinkly shooshing sounds when you shake them.

And Patty, Wendy's bartender for openings who is also a massage therapist, gave us a gift certificate for massages! This was a fabulous surprise!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!