Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:19 a.m. - 2002-03-01
It's A Cold Day For Fruitbats
A couple of weeks ago I was gloating to my friend Sarah that it was 80 degrees here and I was running around in a T shirt. Today it is so cold here that, in desperation, I stuffed a pair of those purple flannel Crown Royale bags full of wool and I am wearing them on my feet like slippers. I hennaed my hair this morning and so I have a big glop of mud on my head covered with a helmet of tin foil. I am clutching a hot cup of coffee and I have an old afghan that my great aunt made around my shoulders. It is lime green and purple.

When the mailman delivered a package a few minutes ago he looked me up and down and said, very gently, "Are you feeling alright?"

This is one of the endearing things about Alabama. If I had said "My head hurts" or"I'm chatting with the space people" or even just "No" he probably would have tried to get help for me or taken me to a lunatic asylum or something.

See, this is why I hardly ever answer my door here! Perhaps if Jeff had caught me dressed like this he would have left me alone!


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!