Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:25 a.m. - 2002-02-28
Intro and vintage clothing finds
Ok, so I have decided to do the Diaryland thing. Partly because I have been wanting to have a more focused recording of things that have been happening since we moved to the South, but also out of a sort of sadness I have about what a terrible correspondent I have been to people I really do care very much about. I figure you all can just come here and read what I have been up to and then you'll all realise why I never write - because my life is essentially very quiet and boring and my typical day is spent cooped up in my studio with an embroidery needle in my hand for 12 hours. And who wants to hear about that?!!

This week is a classic example. The first "exciting" event was that Sunday, while we were out househunting, we stopped at an "estate sale". This was a glorified name for a garage full of soiled and battered items that most people would have just thrown out. Bruce bought boxes and boxes of glass jars for five dollars (don't ask!! Ok, ask!! He is using them to store his preserved fish collection. Anyone for pickled killifish?) and, after rooting around in piles of shredded cloth I turned up five really beautiful vintage dresses for ten cents apiece! It was definately the most amasing vintage bargain I have ever gotten. Strangely they fit me perfectly - whoever their previous owner was must have been my body double. One is a real "Crazy In Alabama" dress - striped pink and white with a plunging neckline and a pouffy skirt.

There was also a fabulous angora sweater with rust coloured ferns on it. I'm sure I'll be a rather frightening beacon of rust coloured light when I wear it (it EXACTLY matches my hair!) but perhaps a yucky brown skirt will dull the effect.

All of it smells as though it's been dead for 20 years, despite a good washing with lots of rose water. I dumped so much rose water in the rinse that Bruce came home and thought that I had died and gone beatific. I think he has a low tolerance for floral smells.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!