Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:02 p.m. - 2002-02-28
Just because my car is in the driveway it doesn't mean I'm home!
Oh, the other "excitement" this week was that I had a wild snit out with the neighbor across the street, Jeff. He has always been a bit whiney and is one of those people who is just willfully depressed and wants to tell you all about it in excruciating detail. Anyway, evidently he must have knocked on our door sometime this past week and I didn't answer because he called and left the most whiney, bitchy message in the most whiney, bitchy, sing-songey voice about how we "neeeeever answer our doooooor, even though Ruth's caaaar is in the driiiiiiveway"!It totally pissed me off -the implication was that if my car was here then I must be home and therefore I should be at his beck and call.

So since when have I become inextricably linked to my car? Am I supposed to take my car with me when I go for walks in the nearby cemetary? When I wander down to Oldee Townee Coffee Shoppee with Miss Beth? Or even if I am home why should I always answer the door - am I suppose to leap out of the bathtub dripping wet and fling the door open, exposing my naked, soaking body to all and sundry?!! I can think of a million times when I'm not inclined to answer the door!

Grrr!!! The little fruitbat is frothing and baring her teeth!! It is a fearsome sight!!

So this has now become a topic of great hilarity for all my friends here. They call me up giggling and say things like: "hey come to the phone! We know you're there - we can see your car!!" Catherine has gently tried to explain to me that here in the South people do tend to answer their doors and even their phones occasionally. But this just doesn't explain Jeff - he's lived in New York City for years and years.

Anyway, the punchline to this saga is that Jeff and his elderly aunt moved a couple of days ago out to Athens. Since I didn't want to lose control of my famous temper I avoided them until the enormous moving trunk motored out of here yesterday. So hopefully my evasive maneuvers will pay off and I just won't have to be whined at again.


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!